Our Song

After a big day, and some grocery shopping with my little guy, I pulled into my garage. I let Josh in the house and began unpacking my groceries. My fiancé was there waiting for us when we got home.

He smiled at me and took the bags from my hands. He placed them on the counter. He turned on music and took me into his arms. He wrapped my arms around his neck and began swaying.

This was something he had done from the very beginning. Dancing is something special for us. Our first date was a wedding, so we danced then and every other opportunity we have.

As we danced in the kitchen, I felt my cheeks beginning to flush. No matter how many times we danced, I still became embarrassed each time.

I started to take my arm down, and he quickly placed it back up around his neck. I giggled and try to squirm away, but he twirled me around. He pulled me back closely and told me to listen to the words.

When your legs don’t work like they used to before, and I can’t sweep you off of your feet. Will your mouth still remember the taste of my love? Will your eyes still smile from your cheeks?

He told me that this was our song. He told me this is the way our love was going to be always.

I flushed even more, but couldn’t stop grinning.

When my hair’s all but gone and my memory fades, and the crowds don’t remember my name. When my hands don’t play the strings the same way I know you will still love me the same.

As I listened to the beautiful words, I realized he was right. This might just be our song. We danced the entire song, as I continued to flush and twirl. This is definitely the man for me.

And, darling, I will be loving you ’til we’re 70. And, baby, my heart could still fall as hard at 23. And I’m thinking ’bout how people fall in love in mysterious ways. Maybe just the touch of a hand. Well, me—I fall in love with you every single day.

12 thoughts on “Our Song

  1. This is like a romantic comedy before my eyes (minus the comedy!) BEAUTIFULLY written and so touching. That song embodies everything you are feeling…inspiring my own post possibly later today! Thank you for sharing!
    -Dana

  2. I don’t know whether to puke or blush.

    Ha ha ha ha – I’m kidding! This is so sweet, Aimee! Like something out of a movie! What a romantic man you have. I think it’s so adorable that you still blush. 🙂

  3. This is so beautiful – the sentiment, the song, and your experience. It reminds me of my husband and I practicing our first dance in our living room to “All of Me.” For us those were the perfect works (“your perfect imperfections”).

  4. So sweet! Don’t ever give that up. I am so happy for you that you found someone that you truly connect with, your soul mate! When you were describing your flushing and blushing and giggles, I could just feel your emotions. So real, such love!

  5. I’m dying. This is just the cutest ever. I love how honest you are about the feeling embarrassed but giving in anyways. That’s how I would feel too but it’s good to be swept up like this. Oh congrats. What a guy!

Leave a Reply

