My Idol

Today has me thinking about someone very special to me.

My Aunt Amy

How can I ever begin to describe her? To begin with, she exudes confidence and everything a strong, beautiful woman is. She gives me confidence when I’m not sure of myself, like when things took a turn for the worse for me.

She was there for me then, and still continues to be.

When she looks you in the eye and tells you everything will be okay, you believe her. There’s no other way around it, because she truly means what she says. She says things powerfully and full of love.

A year and a half ago, when I moved, she was there helping me move. It was hands-down the worst day of my entire life.

Her hugs got me through.

Her confidence in me got me through.

Her love got me through.

She took a leadership role that day, and saw that my things got placed exactly where they belonged. It was like she knew everything, without me having to say a word. It was not a day where I wanted to take charge and make decisions, and she knew. 

I wanted my son’s room to look just as it did in his old room, and she made it happen. She went out of her way, and even dusted all of his furniture. It smelled citrus fresh when I walked upstairs, teary-eyed, to see it. She made our house a home for us. It was entirely set up for all our routines by the end of the night. My whole life had changed, but she kept this part organized. She even stocked my kitchen with cleaning supplies and groceries. I started to begin to think we would be okay.

Three years ago, I gave birth to my son. I was in the hospital, and beyond happy holding my little guy. Things were going wonderfully, until I found I was struggling with breast feeding. I thought it would just automatically work. It was a given in my mind that I would be able to do it. My mom had done it with six children.

I struggled.

I started to feel awful and guilty. I was being told by one nurse that I needed to supplement with formula until it came through. The lactation nurse was against this idea, and I was torn. My heart was a mess. I was crying and so confused.

Then, something wonderful happened. She contacted me. She told me that when she had her two boys, she gave them formula too. She talked about how some people make you feel guilty, but that you shouldn’t. She told me it was going to be just fine if he had formula. She reminded me of how her two wonderful, bright little boys turned out perfectly, without breast milk.

A weight had been taken off of me. The guilt faded. I felt relieved. Even more tears came from my eyes. This was exactly what I needed to hear. A classy, incredible mother, whom I respect so much let me know that I was making the right decision.

She’s the kind of person you can trust. When you tell her something, you can know she wants to hear it, not for gossip’s sake, but for the right reasons. She wants to know how things are going, because she genuinely cares.

When she gives gifts, they are always really thought out. They come in the best packaging, every single time.

She’s the kind of woman who makes other women feel beautiful and confident. She will only lift others, not put him down. She stands up for what’s right. That is quite possibly my favorite thing about her. In life, you don’t often find someone who’s not afraid to voice a wrong that someone is doing. I’ve seen her do it. I’ve seen her stick up for others, including myself. She does it in such a fashion, that the other person automatically respects her for it.

She is part of a charitable foundation. She creates dream bedrooms for children who are going through impossible things, such as cancer.

She’s beautiful inside and out. I could go on and on about all of the ways she has touched my life, and many other’s lives. She’s one of those people who does things for others, and expects nothing in return. I am so lucky to call her family.

I have always wanted to thank her in a better fashion, but sometimes it is hard to find the right words for someone who has done so much. She should know she is so appreciated. I hope to be at least half of who she is. How do you repay someone like this?

3 thoughts on “My Idol

  1. Nice portrait of your Aunt Amy. SHe sounds like a very special woman. I don’t think you need to worry about repaying someone like this. You can bet she’s not expecting anything like that. But you can pay it forward to someone else who struggles. Have a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

