Juggling

As things are changing in my life, I was think about all of the different family and friends that I have. I am so thankful to have them all in my life.

Today I went out to breakfast with my boyfriend’s incredible grandma. She lost her husband earlier this week, and my heart broke for their whole family. I can’t even imagine what that’s like. I loved hearing the stories of her past today when we were together. It reminded me of how much I adore my own grandparents. Family is everything.

After breakfast I started feeling a little anxious. I am extremely close with my family, and I love to spend quality time with each and every one of them. I started thinking about how I need to call and make more time for everyone.

The thing is, my parents are divorced. I have a step family, my moms side, my dad’s side, my ex’s family and my boyfriend’s family.

Holidays are big adventures for Josh and I. Christmas Day alone last year I took Josh to five homes, other than my own. I am realizing now how hard it will be for Josh to juggle all of this as he begins to get older. It was tough for me to make it to every single party as I grew up, but for him it will be tougher. He has even more family. I will just make a conscious effort to always make him feel comfortable with whatever makes him happy and whatever he wants to do. I remember always feeling guilty for missing certain parties when I had to attend others. I vow to never make him feel guilty. I’ve been there.

Josh and I are extremely lucky to have all of these family and friends in our lives. We will learn to juggle. I am going to make a few calls this week for some well needed visits. I think I’ll start with my Dad.

2 thoughts on “Juggling

  1. Family IS so important…. the juggling makes it so tough though….we’ve learning to split a lot of holidays to make it work. It’s so amazing to have that built in support system though.

Leave a Reply

