Slicing

I had no idea when I began slicing that it would have such an impact on me. I find myself thinking more about writing than ever.

I drive down the street and titles to posts pop in my mind. Words scroll across my face as I stare at the world. I think about writing nonstop. I drive and I wish I could stop and pull over to write down my ideas. They just keep flowing through me.

Now, there are definitely days when I am blank. I have no ideas. It shows in my posts which days I am uninspired.

I am very thankful that I was in the meeting the day that Dana talked about slicing. It is one of the best decisions I have made lately. I am glad that I had this opportunity through my district

It has made me a better teacher too, because I can see through the eyes of my students. I now understand why they have trouble thinking about what they want to write about for the day. I know what it’s like to have writers block. I know what it takes to be inspired.

The comments that I have been receiving on my blog have motivated me so much. I am so appreciative of all the kind things people have said. I have blogged about things that I never ever thought I would open up to because of the comfort people have made me feel through their comments or talks. I feel so safe here. Though I don’t always find the time to comment back, each comment has been read multiple times by me, and I am forever changed by the kindness.

10 thoughts on “Slicing

  1. Aimee- Beautiful reflection! It is so amazing how a simply, yet complex thing as writing every day helps us understand our students so much better. You are an amazing writer and have opened yourself up so much on your blog! I’m so glad you did the challenge!!!

  2. I feel like this too! I feel like I am muddling through right along with my students! This has been such a great experience for me, especially because I have 30 new friends to support me and my writing!

  3. It’s a great experience isn’t it? I for one am so glad you’re doing it. I’ve enjoyed reading all your posts. 🙂 I find myself using the notes section on my phone and dictating lines that I like while at stoplights.

  4. I echo those feelings! So happy for you that you have been able to “release” and feel a bit more free. It’s wonderful that this experience has helped you grow professionally as well. So nice that you can now truly understand how your students feel sometimes. Good reflection!

  5. Slicing for a month changes everything about the way you think and see the world. It opens your eyes to so many possibilities and brings such awareness of how the comments fuel you in your writing. I wish everyone who teaches would engage in this work, then they may be more understanding of their students.

  6. I feel the same way Aimee. Writing & sharing my writing has changed my thinking I am always thinking in blogs and titles and shared more than I ever imagined I would. I too re read comments and love the feedback

  7. You are safe here – I feel the exact same way. This slice says so many of the things I’ve been thinking. How would we have ever known unless we did it this year. I’m glad you sliced too 🙂

    I really like how you wrote about what it feels like to be a student. I mean more than ever I can feel how hard it must be for them in class when we want a quality piece of writing. Inspiration, motivation, time to write the best way they know how, are all factors we need to remember. This is perfect.

Leave a Reply

