3/7/12

050

I remember the day Joshua was born like it was yesterday. I don’t know how two years could fly by so quickly. I remember waking up and being so excited that I could barely contain myself.

I was about to be a Mom.

I checked his bedroom one last time before we left for the hospital, because I wanted it to be perfect for him. The letters were hung above his crib.

JOSHUA

I was scheduled to be induced, so it was sort of perfect for me. I was able to shower and prepare. I am the kind of person that likes to have everything “set”. I even had time to shave my legs.

Everything went so smoothly. We went in at 7:00 in the morning, and at 7:14 at night my Joshie was born. I was so in love. I could not get over how tiny he was. I could not stop staring at him. I watched as they weighed and measured him. I got to hold him first.

He was just so tiny. So tiny. He was mine.

Now I was finally able to tell everyone his name. I had been keeping it a secret until after he was born. The truth is that I didn’t even know which name I would choose until just a few days before. Choosing a name was tough.

I remember my family coming. So many people were there for him that day. Everyone wanted to meet my little guy. I was so proud. I was so grateful for everyone’s support. I really needed them there. I felt so loved. I loved seeing everyone’s faces as they met Josh for the first time.

I didn’t sleep that entire first night. Not one bit. I felt an overwhelming sense of responsibility for Josh. I could not take my eyes off of him. I couldn’t believe he was mine. I was on top of the world.

I have never been the same since that day. He made me an even better person.

He is the best thing that has ever happened to me.

So, I will admit it now. He’s two. He really is two now…

7 thoughts on “3/7/12

  1. What a joyful day! I love the photo. Two is when they start talking back to you. You can’t wait ’till they can start talking and then when they do, you was nostalgic for their silence 🙂

  2. Happy Birthday Josh! I can’t believe you didn’t sleep all night. I remember being so tired when Audrey was born and was annoyed because they kept waking me up all night and Audrey was sleeping nicely.

  3. I’m finally starting my slice binge after two days unable to read anyone. Two is busy busy and I saw your title on my reader and just had to read it! What’s touching birth story. The anticipation, details, all of it. I love how you put his name apart from everything else. Felt like he was and is your celebrity. Happy birthday Joshua!

Leave a Reply

