Dear Joshua

mommy

Dear Joshua,

Friday you will turn two. Two! I still tell people you are one when they ask. I am stubbornly keeping you as young as I can for as long as I can.

I am so proud to be your Mom. There is nothing that I want more than to be the best Mom you could ever wish for. I literally think about it all of the time. I think about how I can be the best Mom that you could ever hope for.

I feel like we have the most special bond.

When I hear you call, “Mommyyy, Mommyyy…!!” in the morning, it gets me out of bed so fast. It is the best alarm clock I could ever wish for. I never thought those words would come out of my mouth. Sleep used to be my favorite thing in the world. Now, you are my favorite thing in the world.

Right now you are obsessed with trains. You can be heard saying, “Choo choo” at LEAST twenty times per day. You love “b-ball”, running, babies, your winks, reading, pretend sleeping, laughing, dancing, cuddling, cooking and jumping. You love so many things Josh. Thank goodness your love for the Doodlebops has dwindled down though. Seriously. I was beginning to sing those songs on the regular and it was scary how I knew Every. Single. Word.

You love yelling, and you are loud thanks to being in the constant daftness of all of your aunt’s company…okay and maybe mine too. You are the “leader” of your class at school (as told by your teachers). Sometimes you get in trouble for wrestling. You are such a boy, always jumping and knocking me over as you say, “push!!”.

Joshie, you are just the sweetest boy. That’s what I call you. My Joshie. I am always saying weird, completely made up phrases and words. I am sure you will realize this one day. Your pacifiers…they are winks, winkie dinks even. I apologize ahead of time for all of the future embarrassment.

Every day it seems like you are learning something new, and each new thing surprises me. Your vocabulary is expanding, and I love hearing you talk. You don’t seem to fear much, which is scary for me. Sometimes I have mini heart attacks when I watch you jump off the couch from the very top.

You think its hilarious.

You also thinking hitting the TV is hilarious. When I try and use my “stern” voice to correct you, you think its hilarious too. Oh yes, you are at that stage. Mommy seriously needs to work on her sternness. We will get there.

We go so many places Joshie. We are busy people. Mommy has lots of friends with kids your age, so we do lots of visits. Family is so important to us. Your aunts come over often. They have been there for you in every single piece of your life. They are the best, and I owe them more than I can repay. They are my very best friends for life, and I hope you learn everything you possibly can from them. They are not only smart, but they have superlative morals. They are remarkable, just like you.

I love you Goosey (yup, another made up name for you). I love you more than anything. Thank you for making me smile. Thank you for changing my life. Thank you for making me the happiest I have ever been.

Love,

Mommy

 

 

14 thoughts on “Dear Joshua

  1. what a sweet letter. I feel like I know the little guy through your writing. You start out so general and then get so specific to his traits and things that are special between a mommy and her little guy. 🙂

  2. You definitely need to share this with Josh one day. I enjoy your names you call Josh. I have lots of names for Audrey and have noticed that people I love the most get the most nicknames from me. Audrey even comments on all the names I call her- she told her Grandma- “Mommy calls me pumpkin and I don’t know why.”

    • I think its true that the ones we love most get the most nicknames!! I think its because we know them best to what suits them. =) I love that you call Audrey different names too!! So sweet.

  3. this is seriously too cute. you’ve most definitely achieved your goal of being the best mom possible. he simply adores you! i love watching you two play together and seeing the love you have for eachother. you’re truly my role model and i hope to have such a strong and special bond with my kids one day. love this and love you aimee!

  4. Such a beautiful letter to Joshua! You should totally share it with him when he is older. I love that you make up words, and that the Doodlebops run through you head every day…parenthood is interesting, huh?

  5. You’re the best Mommy around—- I appreciate you being honest in how you used to love sleep, remember I would call you at noon, 1, 2 and you were still asleep! I love the fact that you are able to have him in your life and reflect how you can be your best (but you’re already there!). I can’t wait for the day that you can share this piece with him when he is a man—– 🙂

    • Thanks Nance!! Man….sleep used to be so awesome! lol- So was staying up until 3AM. Oh, how the times have changed. Who would have ever thought we would be old enough to be on the flip side of it all?!

Leave a Reply

